Shruti literature includes the four Vedas – Rig Veda, Sama Veda, Yajur Veda and Atharva Veda – which were orally transmitted by the sages and later written down. The word shruti literally means “that which is heard” and refers to the fact that this type of literature was passed down orally from generation to generation.

The Vedas are the most important and sacred texts of Hinduism. They are a collection of hymns, prayers, rituals and instructions for worship. The four Vedas were composed over a period of time, from around 1500 BCE to 600 BCE, and were passed down orally before being written down.

The Vedas are the oldest of the Hindu scriptures and are considered to be the source of all knowledge. They are divided into four main books: the Rig Veda, the Sama Veda, the Yajur Veda and the Atharva Veda. Each Veda has four main parts: the Samhitas (hymns), the Brahmanas (ritual and sacrificial texts), the Aranyakas (texts for forest-dwellers) and the Upanishads (philosophical and mystical texts).

The Vedas are the oldest sacred texts of Hinduism and are a source of great wisdom. They provide guidance on all aspects of life, from the most mundane to the most spiritual. The Vedas are essential reading for all Hindus and are studied by scholars of all religions.

Other related questions:

Why the Vedas are call Shruti?

The Vedas are called Shruti because they are considered to be revealed truth.

What is Shruti English?

Shruti English is a form of English that is based on the sounds of the Indian language, Shruti. It is designed to be more accessible to those who are not familiar with the English language, and to help bridge the gap between English and Shruti speakers.

What is the meaning of Shruti and Smriti?

Shruti is the sacred body of Hindu religious texts that includes the Vedas, while Smriti consists of the texts that were composed after the Vedas.

What are the main Shruti texts?

The main Shruti texts are the Vedas, which consist of the Rigveda, Yajurveda, Samaveda and Atharvaveda.


  • Was this Helpful ?
  • YesNo

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *